fbpx معرض الهنجر | Amman Design Week

يتميّز معرض الهنجر 2019، والذي تنسّقه نورة السايح- هولتروب، باحتضانه أوسع مجموعة من الأعمال التي يقدّمها أكثر من 50 مصمّماً من الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، والذين استجابوا مع ثيمة "الاحتمالات".

وعبر تقصّي مواد جديدة واحتمالات جماليّة، يمكن أن تنشأ مجالات تصنيع جديدة من شأنها أن تساهم في تخيّل مستقبل جديد من نطاق المدن إلى نطاق المادّة، ما يتيح طرقاً جديدة للتفاعل والعيش.

حول الهنجر

تم إنشاء الهنجر في ثلاثينيّات القرن الماضي كموقع لمولّدات الكهرباء التي خدمت عاصمة الأردن المزدهرة في ذلك الوقت. بني الهنجر في وادٍ تحيط به تلال عمّان الأيقونيّة، وأصبح رمزاً لتحوّل المدينة الحداثي والصناعة، لدرجة أنّه أصبح معلماً بحد ذاته.

وعبر عمليّة إعادة التأهيل التي أنجزها مكتب تراث للاستشارات الهندسيّة والحضريّة وأمانة عمّان الكبرى، تم تحويل المبنى إلى مساحة ثقافيّة تحتضن المعارض الفنيّة، والمعارض الكبرى، والمحاضرات وغيرها من الفعاليّات.

كلمة منسّقة معرض الهنجر

يتمحور معرض الهنجر 2019 حول الإبداع والإنشاء بقدر ما يتمحور حول عمليّة الكشف عن الرّوابط والقواسم المشتركة ما بين المصمّمين، وذلك في محاولة لترسيم المصالح المشتركة والتضافر فيما بينهم وفي العالم العربي. تطوّر مسار هذه الرحلة لينتج أربع مواضيع، وهي: البحث في المواد، والاستكشافات المساحيّة، وسرديّات المدينة، والحياكة.

فمن أكوام الحصى إلى الجميد، يتم إعادة النّظر في المواد بعيداً عن طريقة عملها المعياريّة، إذ يتم الآن إعادة التفكير في تطبيقها واستخداماتها التقليديّة لتصبّ في مجالات العمارة، أو الأثاث، أو حتّى المنحوتات القابلة للأكل.  

لا تعدّ المساحات الطبيعيّة خلفيّة رومانسيّة للسياحة والترفيه فقط، بل مصدراً من مصادر وطرق العيش الجديدة. وبذلك، تصبح المساحة موطناً، وترتفع الأعمدة من التراب.

يمكن للاهتمام المتزايد بتخطيط وترسيم وتأريخ المدن في الشرق الأوسط أن يفسّر صعوبة التعامل مع نموّها المطّرد والعشوائي في كثير من الأحيان. يتم تأويل هذا الاهتمام أيضاً على أنّه اعتراف بتفهّم المدن المتزايد، ليس فقط على شكل بيانات متراكمة، بل أيضاً كمجموعة من القصص والحكايات الشخصيّة والجمعيّة.

تجري الآن عمليّات إعادة إحياء الحرف التقليديّة مثل الحياكة. بينما تحاك حول مواد شعر الماعز والصوف وسعف النخيل تأويلات مختلفة لفكرة الملجأ أمام خلفيّة من البيئات العدائيّة بشكل متزايد.

تتشارك هذه المواضيع الأربعة في الاهتمام بتقصّي المواد المختلفة، والجماليّات، والاحتمالات المفاهيميّة. قد يبدو هذا الاهتمام عقيماً في سياق زمننا ومكاننا الحاليّان، ما يحول دون التركيز على التصميم الذي يتناول العديد من التحدّيات الاجتماعيّة والاقتصاديّة الملحّة. لكن ربّما تكون هذه القضايا الأكثر إلحاحاً في هذا الوقت بالتحديد.

"الاحتمالات" دعوة لتوسيع نطاق قراءة اليوميّ والمتداول والمُهمَل والإشكالي، وبعيداً عن المنظور الأدائيّ والقائم على أسس حل المشاكل. تمثّل "الاحتمالات" فرصة للحديث عن التصميم ليس فقط كأداة للتواصل والتأمّل في العالم، بل أيضاً كأداة لإنشاء عوالم جديدة تماماً. هي أيضاً دعوة لإعادة اكتشاف حرف ومساحات ومصادر الأردن وغيره كأداة للإبداع.

- نورة السايح-هولتروب

حول نورة السايح-هولتروب

نورة السايح-هولتروب معماريّة وقيّمة فنيّة تعمل حاليّاً كرئيسة الشؤون الهندسيّة في هيئة البحرين للثقافة والآثار، حيث تتولّى الإشراف على عمليّة تخطيط وتنفيذ المؤسّسات الثقافيّة والمتاحف، إضافة إلى مسؤوليّة تقديم أفكار إبداعيّة حول برنامج وأجندات وأنشطة الهيئة فيما يخصّ المعارض. تحمل نورة شهادة الماجستير في العمارة من مدرسة لوزان الاتحاديّة للفنون التطبيقيّة.

كانت نورة مساعدة أمين معرض البحرين "استرداد" الذي شاركت به البحرين للمرّة الأولى في بينالي فينيسيا للعمارة الرابع عشر العام 2010، والذي حصلت من خلاله على جائزة الأسد الذهبي. ونائب المفوّض العام لـ"Archaeologies of Green" في جناح البحرين الوطني في إكسبو ميلان العام 2015، والذي حصل على الميداليّة الفضيّة ضمن جائزة أفضل عمارة وموقع. وترأس منذ العام 2015 مشروع اليونيسكو للتراث العالمي "طريق اللؤلؤ: شاهد على اقتصاد الجزيرة"، والذي اختير ضمن القائمة القصيرة كجزء من إعادة تأهيل المحرّق لدورة العام 2019 من جائزة آغا خان للعمارة.

المشاركون

  • نورة السايح-هولتروب
  • شركة أنسطاس للهندسة والتنظيم
  • عباس بسام الفاعوري
  • عبير صيقلي
  • آفتر تو
  • الزهراء العمري
  • امينة اكزناي
  • مجموعة أطلال
  • أيمن عزام
  • بحريني - دينيش
  • بسام الهنيدي
  • بشر الطباع
  • العمارة المدنية × استديو لباني
  • كلاستر لابز
  • كورتي غيراردي
  • مجموعة تقاطع
  • دانا العلمي
  • ديمة سروجي
  • إيسنا سو
  • فادي زعمط
  • فيصل الملك
  • مجلة فنزين
  • فار-فلّنچ
  • فريدة خالد
  • فاونلاند
  • جراج
  • جورجيا مشيلح
  • هديل عايد محمد
  • هلا كيكسو
  • ابراهيم الزعبي، محمد الحمادي
  • إيلا بيكا ولويز ليمون
  • إنسيكت. بالتعاون مع رشا جرار
  • إشراق زريقات
  • جوان باز
  • جود أبو الغنم
  • قيس الراوي و جوليا كورنر
  • خالد/نورما
  • كتلة
  • لينا قسيسية
  • مريم ابراهيم
  • الوسائل الحديثة للتصميم
  • م ر م
  • نادين ظاظا وسما الساكت
  • نجلاء الزين
  • نور الدين أمير
  • عمر السرطاوي
  • مركز رمسيس ويصا واصف للفنون
  • راسم كمال
  • صبا عنّاب
  • سهل الحياري
  • السمندل
  • مجلة سكفكف
  • مختبر المربع الأول
  • استوديو آن هولتروب
  • تغلب عويس
  • مجلة توك توك
  • تويلف دغريز
  • ياسمين حموضة
  • زينة حماد
بتنسيق من نورة السايح- هولتروب
4 تشرين الأول 2019 12:00 م - 10:00 م
5 تشرين الأول 2019 10:00 ص - 10:00 م
6 تشرين الأول 2019 10:00 ص - 10:00 م
7 تشرين الأول 2019 10:00 ص - 10:00 م
8 تشرين الأول 2019 10:00 ص - 10:00 م
9 تشرين الأول 2019 10:00 ص - 10:00 م
10 تشرين الأول 2019 10:00 ص - 10:00 م
11 تشرين الأول 2019 12:00 م - 10:00 م
12 تشرين الأول 2019 10:00 ص - 10:00 م
المكان
جالري راس العين / الهنجر
الموقع
راس العين

fbpx The Hangar Exhibition | Amman Design Week

The 2019 Hangar Exhibition, curated by Noura Al Sayeh-Holtrop, is the most regional showcase yet, presenting work by over fifty designers from the Middle East and North Africa in response to the theme of ‘possibilities’. 

By investigating new material and aesthetic possibilities, new fields of creation emerge that imagine a different future, from the scale of the city to that of the object, enabling different ways of interacting and living. 

About the Hangar

The Hangar was constructed in the 1930s to house the electricity generators that powdered Jordan’s burgeoning capital city. Situated in a valley that is surrounded by Amman’s iconic hills, the structure is emblematic of the city’s modernization and industrialization, so much so that it became a landmark in its own right. A rehabilitation by TURATH: Architecture and Urban Design consultants and the Greater Amman Municipality has transformed the striking building into a cultural space that plays host to exhibitions, fairs, lectures and more.

A Note from the Curator

The 2019 Hangar Exhibition is as much about creation and authorship as it is about revealing connections and commonalities amongst designers, in an effort to draw a map of shared interests and potential synergies across the Arab World. The resulting itinerary develops around four emerging themes: material research, territorial explorations, narratives of the city, and weaving. 
 
From loose gravel to jameed, materials are reconsidered away from the standard modus operandi – their application and uses rethought and molded into architecture, furniture or edible sculptures.

Landscapes are not only considered as a romantic backdrop for tourism and leisure but as a source of resources and new ways of living; territory becoming home and soil creating columns.

A growing interest in mapping, drawing, and chronicling cities in the Middle East could bely the difficulty in dealing with their exponential and often chaotic growth. It is an acknowledgement that the city is increasingly being understood, not only as an accumulation of data, but also as a juxtaposition of stories and narratives: some personal, others shared. 

Millennial crafts such as weaving are being revitalized, and goat hair, wool and palm fronds are spinning different interpretations of shelter against the backdrop of increasingly hostile environments.

The four emerging themes share an interest in investigating different material, aesthetic, and conceptual possibilities. This may appear futile in the current context of our time and place, shifting the focus of design away from the many urgent social and economic challenges – or maybe it is specifically in these moments that it is the most necessary.

“Possibilities” is a call to broaden the reading of the everyday, the vernacular, the abandoned, and the problematic away from a solely performative and problem-based perspective. It is an opportunity to talk about design not just as a tool for communicating and reflecting on the world, but also as a tool for creating new worlds altogether; an invitation to rediscover the crafts, landscapes, and resources of Jordan and beyond as a toolbox for creation. 

- Noura Al Sayeh-Holtrop, curator of the Hangar Exhibition

About Noura Al-Sayeh Holtrop

Noura Al Sayeh-Holtrop is an architect and curator currently working at the Bahrain Authority for Culture and Antiquities (BACA) as Head of Architectural Affairs, where she is responsible for overseeing the planning and implementation of cultural institutions and museums as well as the creation of an active agenda of exhibitions. She holds a Masters Degree in Architecture from the Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne.

Noura was the co-curator of Reclaim, Bahrain's first participation at the 12th Venice Architecture Biennale in 2010 that was awarded a Golden Lion and the Deputy Commissioner General for Archaeologies of Green, Bahrain’s National Pavilion at the Expo Milan 2015, awarded a Silver Medal for Best Architecture and Landscape. Since 2015, she heads the Pearling, Testimony of an Island Economy UNESCO World Heritage project, which has been shortlisted as part of the revitalization of Muharraq for the 2019 cycle of Aga Khan Award for Architecture. 

Participants

  • AAU ANASTAS
  • Abbas Bassam al-Faouri
  • Abeer Seikaly 
  • after two
  • Al Zahra'a Al Omari 
  • Amina Agueznay
  • Anne Holtrop
  • Atlal Collective
  • Aymen Azzam
  • bahraini–danish
  • Bassam Huneidi
  • Bisher Tabbaa
  • Civil Architecture x studiolibani
  • Cluster Labs
  • Crossroads Collective
  • Dahham Khaled Alhamad and Zaad Alkhair Ahmed Alzoubi 
  • Dana Alami
  • Dima Srouji
  • Esna Su 
  • Fadi Zumot
  • Faissal El-Malak
  • Fanzeen
  • Farflung Studio
  • Farida Khaled 
  • Foundland Collective 
  • Garage Magazine
  • Georgia Mchaileh
  • Hadeel Ayed Mohammad 
  • Hala Kaiksow 
  • Ibrahim Firas Alzoubi, Mohammad Alhamadi  
  • Ila Bêka and Louise Lemoine 
  • insect. in collaboration with rasha jarrar
  • Ishraq Zraikat 
  • Joan Baz 
  • Jude Abu El Ghanam
  • Kais Al-Rawi & Julia Koerner 
  • Khalid/Norma 
  • kutleh 
  • Lena Kassicieh
  • Mariam Ibrahim 
  • MORPH X DESIGN STUDIO 
  • MRM
  • Nadine Zaza and Sama El Saket
  • Najla El Zein
  • Noureddine Amir
  • Omar Sartawi 
  • Ramses Wissa Wassef Art Centre - Egypt
  • Rasem Kamal 
  • Saba Innab 
  • Sahel Alhiyari 
  • Samandal Magazine
  • Skefkef
  • Sosthen Hennekam
  • Square 1 Lab & Eman Alshawaf
  • Taghlib Oweis 
  • TokTok Magazine
  • Twelve Degrees
  • Yasmeen Hamouda 
  • Zina Hammad 
Curated by Noura Al Sayeh-Holtrop
4 October 2019 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
5 October 2019 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
6 October 2019 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
7 October 2019 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
8 October 2019 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
9 October 2019 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
10 October 2019 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
11 October 2019 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12 October 2019 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Venue
Ras El Ain Gallery / Hangar
Location
Ras El Ain